PHM Racing hattrick at Red Bull Ring sealed by Kamal Mrad

PHM Racing hattrick at Red Bull Ring sealed by Kamal Mrad

PHM Racing’s dominance in the second round of the F4 CEZ at Red Bull Ring was sealed by Kamal Mrad, who started from seventh place but fought through to take the lead and win the final race of the weekend.

Luca Viisoreanu and local hero Oscar Wurz started from the front row, with Enea Frey and Maksimilian Popov behind them.

Viisoreanu kept the lead in the opening lap, as there weren’t any major incidents in the field of more than 20 Formula 4 cars driven by young drivers. Wurz also maintained his second position, and behind them was a great battle among three PHM Racing cars.

However, there was some contact at the back of the field between Luca Savu, Jonathan Corrella, and Kirill Kutskov, for whom the weekend at Red Bull Ring went from bad to worse, as he didn’t finish any of the three races. With a piece of the front wing on the track, the race was neutralized by the safety car.

The order behind the safety car was Viisoreanu, Wurz, Mrad, Larini, Ischer, Petrović, Ryba, Frey, Popov, and Zhang in tenth.

The race was restarted with 13 minutes to go, and Viisoreanu kept the lead from Wurz, who was under pressure from Kamal Mrad and had to settle for third.

The entire field was very close during the race, with gaps between the cars no more than one second. Any small mistake would result in losing a position. This was also true for Viisoreanu, who had Mrad all over his rearview mirrors.

Mrad made a move in turn three and took the lead. Wurz also tried to pass Viisoreanu, and after slight contact between them, Wurz succeeded on the following lap.

Kamal Mrad kept the lead until the finish of the last race of the weekend at Red Bull Ring, achieving a perfect result for the PHM Racing team by winning every F4 CEZ race in Austria. Oscar Wurz finished second, just half a second behind Kamal. Pole-sitter Luca Viisoreanu from Real Racing Team finished third, and Davide Larini from PHM Racing crossed the finish line in fourth. Enea Frey brought his car home in fifth place. Previous two winners Andrej Petrović and Maksimilian Popov finished sixth and seventh. Matúš Ryba was eighth but received a time penalty for track limits and dropped to tenth place behind Andrija Kostic and Shimo Zhang.